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	<title>LaunchBit</title>
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	<link>http://www.launchbit.com/blog</link>
	<description>Striving to get the right messages to the right people at the right time...</description>
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		<title>8 ways MixRank grew their revenue 44% per week</title>
		<link>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/8-ways-mixrank-grew-their-revenue-44-per-week/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=8-ways-mixrank-grew-their-revenue-44-per-week</link>
		<comments>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/8-ways-mixrank-grew-their-revenue-44-per-week/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 24 May 2013 18:17:15 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Tim Chin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[business]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[lead generation]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[email marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[social media marketing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.launchbit.com/blog/?p=4569</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p dir="ltr">By Tim and Elizabeth</p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-9.33.53-AM.png"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4595" title="Screen Shot 2013-05-21 at 9.33.53 AM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-9.33.53-AM-250x93.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p>MixRank is a platform that allows you to spy on your competitor&#8217;s ad campaigns. It was founded in 2011 by Ilya Lichtenstein and is backed by Y Combinator, 500 Startups, Mark Cuban, and other angel investors.  They did a couple of interviews with Startup Frontier on <a href="http://www.startupfrontier.com/2012/09/mixrank-getting-customers-before-building/" target="_blank">getting customers before building their product</a> and <a href="http://www.startupfrontier.com/2012/10/mixrank-doing-paid-advertising-effectively/" target="_blank">doing paid advertising effectively</a>. While most startups have a difficult time trying to get their first customers, MixRank knew how to grow an audience before building a product.  And, they <a href="https://angel.co/mixrank" target="_blank">grew their revenue 44%</a> per week when their product became ready.</p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/MixRankDet.jpg"><img src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/MixRankDet-250x200.jpg" alt="mix-rank" title="MixRankDet" class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4678" /></a></p>
<p><small><i>Image by <a href="http://www.orissajenkins.com">Orissa Jenkins</a></i></small></p>
<p><strong>1. Segmenting their audience</strong></p>
<p>By segmenting their audience, MixRank was able to drill down to get a very well-defined group.&#8230; <a href="http://www.launchbit.com/blog/8-ways-mixrank-grew-their-revenue-44-per-week/" class="read_more">Read the rest</a></p>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p dir="ltr">By Tim and Elizabeth</p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-9.33.53-AM.png"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4595" title="Screen Shot 2013-05-21 at 9.33.53 AM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-9.33.53-AM-250x93.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p>MixRank is a platform that allows you to spy on your competitor&#8217;s ad campaigns. It was founded in 2011 by Ilya Lichtenstein and is backed by Y Combinator, 500 Startups, Mark Cuban, and other angel investors.  They did a couple of interviews with Startup Frontier on <a href="http://www.startupfrontier.com/2012/09/mixrank-getting-customers-before-building/" target="_blank">getting customers before building their product</a> and <a href="http://www.startupfrontier.com/2012/10/mixrank-doing-paid-advertising-effectively/" target="_blank">doing paid advertising effectively</a>. While most startups have a difficult time trying to get their first customers, MixRank knew how to grow an audience before building a product.  And, they <a href="https://angel.co/mixrank" target="_blank">grew their revenue 44%</a> per week when their product became ready.</p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/MixRankDet.jpg"><img src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/MixRankDet-250x200.jpg" alt="mix-rank" title="MixRankDet" class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4678" /></a></p>
<p><small><i>Image by <a href="http://www.orissajenkins.com">Orissa Jenkins</a></i></small></p>
<p><strong>1. Segmenting their audience</strong></p>
<p>By segmenting their audience, MixRank was able to drill down to get a very well-defined group. This helped narrow the scope of the problem they were trying to solve.</p>
<p><strong>2. Paying for market research</strong></p>
<p><strong></strong>Right away, MixRank started spending $2,000 per month on Google Adwords. They viewed it not as a risk, but as a way to learn what people wanted. In addition, it helped them determine their costs for customer acquisition.</p>
<p><strong>3. Creating content their audience will respond to</strong></p>
<p><strong></strong>Having narrowed their focus, MixRank was able to select content that would engage their target audience. Whether it was trying to break news, reach out to bloggers, or post on a social bookmarking site, they would include a sign up invitation for lead generation.</p>
<p><strong>4. Offering free services</strong></p>
<p>Spending $2k/mo (of money that was tough to come by) and offering free services doesn&#8217;t sound like a great business plan. However, these were the strategies MixRank used to gain valuable insight on the market. Specifically, they built marketing campaigns and did free consulting for people willing to talk to them so they could figure out exactly what their problems were. In addition, they now had a list of people that &#8216;owed them a favor&#8217; and who were more likely to be responsive to requests later on. All it cost them was time, which was something they had a lot more of than money!</p>
<p><strong>5. Being patient</strong></p>
<p><strong></strong>MixRank didn&#8217;t dismiss campaigns that didn&#8217;t yield immediate results. Particularly for Saas products, potential customers need time to play with it before deciding to buy. They use, as a rule of thumb, to get at least 30 conversions before determining what the conversion rate for the campaign is.</p>
<p><strong>6. Running Facebook ads</strong></p>
<p>Remember the $2k/mo on Google Adwords? It&#8217;s difficult to keep going at that pace, especially for B2B/Saas businesses. There&#8217;s typically not thousands of keywords to bid on and competing against big enterprise software companies that are spending millions tend to be fruitless. With Facebook ads, it is easier to drill down to the target audience and the competition was/is generally local small businesses making it less competitive (at the time).</p>
<p><strong>7. Sponsoring a blog</strong></p>
<p><strong></strong>MixRank did sponsored reviews with bloggers for sales leads, offering $2 or $3 for every sign up. Of course, there was transparency and full disclosure, but the risk was low for both parties. The risk for MixRank was whether the sign up would lead to revenue. For bloggers, they didn&#8217;t need to bet on, for example, making more money with this ad versus another, because this piece of content was a post not a banner ad.  As a bonus, sponsored reviews show up near the top in search engines, compelling bloggers to do a sponsored post.</p>
<p><strong>8. Sponsoring email newsletters</strong></p>
<p><strong></strong>Newsletters provided MixRank with a burst of traffic really quickly. It was also high quality traffic for lead generation, as newsletter subscribers are an audience that is willing to give up their email address for the right content or product.</p>
<p>Try out some of these steps to improve your lead generation and reach your target audience to help grow your revenue.</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>DIY: How to create beautiful email newsletter templates</title>
		<link>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/diy-how-to-create-beautiful-email-newsletter-templates/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=diy-how-to-create-beautiful-email-newsletter-templates</link>
		<comments>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/diy-how-to-create-beautiful-email-newsletter-templates/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 23 May 2013 21:22:36 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Elizabeth Yin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[email marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[design]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[email templates]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.launchbit.com/blog/?p=4630</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>Email marketers and email newsletter publishers are always looking for beautiful newsletter templates. This post covers a few ways to make your own.</p>
<p>1) <a href="http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/create-send-email-newsletter/" target="_blank">Use Photoshop</a></p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/newsletter-slice-tool.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4633" title="newsletter-slice-tool" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/newsletter-slice-tool-250x209.jpg" alt="" /></a></p>
<p><em>image credit: <a href="http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/create-send-email-newsletter/">HongKiat.com</a></em></p>
<p>This article takes you step-by-step on how to create an HTML email template by using Photoshop. If you are naturally a designer or work with a graphic designer, this is a great tutorial on how to build your own email template yourself.</p>
<p>2) <a href="http://workawesome.com/general/creating-a-newsletter-in-word/" target="_blank">Use Word</a></p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/word_newsletter.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4634" title="word_newsletter" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/word_newsletter-250x250.jpg" alt="" /></a></p>
<p><em>image credit: <a href="http://workawesome.com/general/creating-a-newsletter-in-word/" target="_blank">workawesome</a></em></p>
<p>If you&#8217;re not familiar with Photoshop, Microsoft Word can be a simple option for creating an email newsletter template. This tutorial also takes you step by step on how to create a newsletter.&#8230; <a href="http://www.launchbit.com/blog/diy-how-to-create-beautiful-email-newsletter-templates/" class="read_more">Read the rest</a></p>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Email marketers and email newsletter publishers are always looking for beautiful newsletter templates. This post covers a few ways to make your own.</p>
<p>1) <a href="http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/create-send-email-newsletter/" target="_blank">Use Photoshop</a></p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/newsletter-slice-tool.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4633" title="newsletter-slice-tool" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/newsletter-slice-tool-250x209.jpg" alt="" /></a></p>
<p><em>image credit: <a href="http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/create-send-email-newsletter/">HongKiat.com</a></em></p>
<p>This article takes you step-by-step on how to create an HTML email template by using Photoshop. If you are naturally a designer or work with a graphic designer, this is a great tutorial on how to build your own email template yourself.</p>
<p>2) <a href="http://workawesome.com/general/creating-a-newsletter-in-word/" target="_blank">Use Word</a></p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/word_newsletter.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4634" title="word_newsletter" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/word_newsletter-250x250.jpg" alt="" /></a></p>
<p><em>image credit: <a href="http://workawesome.com/general/creating-a-newsletter-in-word/" target="_blank">workawesome</a></em></p>
<p>If you&#8217;re not familiar with Photoshop, Microsoft Word can be a simple option for creating an email newsletter template. This tutorial also takes you step by step on how to create a newsletter.  However, Microsoft Word will export messy HTML, so note that it will be hairy to edit your HTML once you export it.  That said, your email service provider should be able to handle the exported code.  Some, such as MailChimp, will take this a step further and will <a href="http://kb.mailchimp.com/article/can-i-use-word-or-publisher-to-create-my-content-or-my-html" target="_blank">clean up the messy code</a>.</p>
<p>3) <a href="http://www.slideshare.net/OwlHillMedia/how-to-code-html-email-newsletters" target="_blank">Code from Scratch</a></p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.03.47-PM.png"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4635" title="Screen Shot 2013-05-21 at 12.03.47 PM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.03.47-PM-250x170.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p><em>image credit: <a href="http://www.owlhillmedia.com" target="_blank">OwlHillMedia.com</a></em></p>
<p>If you know HTML and CSS and want to build your own email newsletter template, the best option is to write your own code from scratch.  This presentation covers everything you must know about coding email templates.  tl;dr?  Use tables.  Use inline CSS.  And, test your templates on multiple browsers.</p>
<p>If you haven&#8217;t found a template that you love or absolutely need full control over the design and brand of your company, check out these easy tutorials to build an email newsletter template to your needs.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>How to write effective ebooks that generate 27,000 leads per month</title>
		<link>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/how-to-write-effective-ebooks-that-generate-27000-leads-per-month/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=how-to-write-effective-ebooks-that-generate-27000-leads-per-month</link>
		<comments>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/how-to-write-effective-ebooks-that-generate-27000-leads-per-month/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 23 May 2013 21:22:18 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Elizabeth Yin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[lead generation]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[best practices]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ebooks]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[hubspot]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[online marketing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.launchbit.com/blog/?p=4637</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>Using advertising to drive immediate sales can be really difficult.  But, our best customers use ads to drive new leads to their free content and then will build the relationship to eventually drive sales later.  Ebooks, in particular, work really well. <a href="http://www.hubspot.com" target="_blank">HubSpot</a>, derives 27,000 leads per month through their free content.  This is how they write effective ebooks:</p>
<p><strong>1) Set expectations</strong></p>
<p>Not every ebook is going to be right for everybody. So, it&#8217;s important to state upfront who your ebook is for to set proper expectations.</p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.24.38-PM.png"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4638" title="Screen Shot 2013-05-21 at 12.24.38 PM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.24.38-PM-250x208.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p>Note: if you&#8217;re a beginner they point you to a different book that might be more appropriate.&#8230; <a href="http://www.launchbit.com/blog/how-to-write-effective-ebooks-that-generate-27000-leads-per-month/" class="read_more">Read the rest</a></p>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Using advertising to drive immediate sales can be really difficult.  But, our best customers use ads to drive new leads to their free content and then will build the relationship to eventually drive sales later.  Ebooks, in particular, work really well. <a href="http://www.hubspot.com" target="_blank">HubSpot</a>, derives 27,000 leads per month through their free content.  This is how they write effective ebooks:</p>
<p><strong>1) Set expectations</strong></p>
<p>Not every ebook is going to be right for everybody. So, it&#8217;s important to state upfront who your ebook is for to set proper expectations.</p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.24.38-PM.png"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4638" title="Screen Shot 2013-05-21 at 12.24.38 PM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.24.38-PM-250x208.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p>Note: if you&#8217;re a beginner they point you to a different book that might be more appropriate. They don&#8217;t want you to start reading this book only to become confused and disengage.</p>
<p><strong>2) Use clickable buttons</strong></p>
<p>HubSpot&#8217;s ultimate call to action is for you to buy their product. So, they make it easy for you to do so by including key buttons within their ebooks.</p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.27.57-PM.png"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4639" title="Screen Shot 2013-05-21 at 12.27.57 PM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.27.57-PM-250x200.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p>You don&#8217;t want your readers to have to go to your site, scramble to figure out how to buy, and ultimately become distracted and leave in the process. Make buying easy.</p>
<p><strong>3) Be personable</strong></p>
<p>Immediately, I&#8217;m introduced to the ebook&#8217;s author who has a bio and a face.</p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.30.55-PM.png"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4640" title="Screen Shot 2013-05-21 at 12.30.55 PM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.30.55-PM-250x160.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p>This makes me feel like I&#8217;m building a relationship with the author rather than a corporate machine. If I like her work, I can decide to follow her later.</p>
<p><strong>4) Include a table of contents</strong></p>
<p>Before I invest time into reading this book, I want to know right away what I&#8217;m going to learn. An upfront table of contents is helpful if an ebook is fairly long.</p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.32.48-PM.png"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4641" title="Screen Shot 2013-05-21 at 12.32.48 PM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.32.48-PM-250x239.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p>I can even skip to just the sections I find interesting.</p>
<p><strong>5) Make the ebook readable.</strong></p>
<p>Ebooks that show lots of pictures make the copy more readable. It also helps explain concepts that may otherwise take too many words to write.</p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.35.17-PM.png"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4642" title="Screen Shot 2013-05-21 at 12.35.17 PM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.35.17-PM-250x167.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p>Using different fonts, font sizes, and colors will also help break up the copy and increase reader engagement.</p>
<p><strong>6) Highlight important tips</strong></p>
<p>Even after making your ebook more readable, your readers still may miss a lot of information if they are just skimming your ebook. Pulling out important tips can help you convey essentially the tl;dr parts of your book.</p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.36.42-PM.png"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4643" title="Screen Shot 2013-05-21 at 12.36.42 PM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.36.42-PM-250x92.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p><strong>7) Close with a call-to-action</strong></p>
<p>Lastly, you&#8217;ll want to remind your readers about your product.</p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.39.21-PM.png"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4644" title="Screen Shot 2013-05-21 at 12.39.21 PM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Screen-Shot-2013-05-21-at-12.39.21-PM-250x239.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p>Your potential customers downloaded your ebook to solve a problem. So, tie your product back to that problem, explaining how it can help further.</p>
<p><em>image credit &#8212; all screenshots are from <a href="http://cdn2.hubspot.net/hub/53/blog/docs/ebooks/how_to_create_epic_facebook_ads.pdf" target="_blank">How to Create Epic Facebook Ads</a></em></p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>Why banner ads are dead and native ads are the future</title>
		<link>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/why-banner-ads-are-dead-and-native-ads-are-the-future/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=why-banner-ads-are-dead-and-native-ads-are-the-future</link>
		<comments>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/why-banner-ads-are-dead-and-native-ads-are-the-future/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 22 May 2013 16:33:58 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Elizabeth Yin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[email marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[best practices]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[click-through-rate]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[online marketing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.launchbit.com/blog/?p=4413</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p dir="ltr">By Tim and Elizabeth</p>
<p dir="ltr"><strong><span style="font-size: 1.5em; line-height: 19px;">The Rise</span></strong></p>
<p>Native ads are all the rage these days, seamlessly blending engaging content into the property&#8217;s environment. But to really understand why, we need to take a look at the history of online advertising.  In the 90s, when the dot com boom was starting to take off, I was just entering high school in the Silicon Valley and I had the opportunity to briefly help (if you can call it that) at a banner ad company.  They were rocking it, seeing very high click-through-rates (CTR) and charging just pennies per click.  Back then, everyone and their mother was clicking, so even at just pennies, this company was rolling in the dough.&#8230; <a href="http://www.launchbit.com/blog/why-banner-ads-are-dead-and-native-ads-are-the-future/" class="read_more">Read the rest</a></p>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p dir="ltr">By Tim and Elizabeth</p>
<p dir="ltr"><strong><span style="font-size: 1.5em; line-height: 19px;">The Rise</span></strong></p>
<p>Native ads are all the rage these days, seamlessly blending engaging content into the property&#8217;s environment. But to really understand why, we need to take a look at the history of online advertising.  In the 90s, when the dot com boom was starting to take off, I was just entering high school in the Silicon Valley and I had the opportunity to briefly help (if you can call it that) at a banner ad company.  They were rocking it, seeing very high click-through-rates (CTR) and charging just pennies per click.  Back then, everyone and their mother was clicking, so even at just pennies, this company was rolling in the dough.  They later sold for hundreds of millions of dollars before the dot com bust in the early 2000s.</p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/rise1.jpg"><img class="alignleft  wp-image-4421" style="margin-top: 15px; margin-bottom: 15px; margin-right: 15px;" title="rise" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/rise1-250x218.jpg" alt="" width="125" height="109" /></a> But they weren&#8217;t the only ones raking it in.  <a href="http://andrewchen.co/2012/04/05/the-law-of-shitty-clickthroughs/">Just about every banner ad company was doing the same</a>.  Banner ads were seeing anywhere between 50-90% CTR!  It was an insane time!  As a result, the effective CPMs were also very high. For example, let’s say you ran a website with a 70% CTR on one banner ad and only made $0.05 per click. For every 1000 visitors, you were still making 1000 * 70% * $0.05 = $35 eCPMs!</p>
<h2>The Fall</h2>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/fall1.jpg"><img class="alignright  wp-image-4422" title="fall" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/fall1-250x173.jpg" alt="" width="125" height="86" /></a>Fast forward to today.  The CTR on banner ads has plummeted to about 0.1%.  So your eCPM is now 5 cents instead of $35! Advertisers are getting way fewer clicks and publishers are hardly making any money at all.  Why?  Consumers have <a href=" http://www.nngroup.com/articles/banner-blindness-old-and-new-findings/">banner-blindness</a>.   Banner ads are now standardized, so they look the same on every single site.  It makes it easy to ignore ads even if they are relevant and well-targeted.</p>
<h2>The Resurrection</h2>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/resurrection1.jpg"><img class="alignleft size-full wp-image-4423" style="margin-top: 40px; margin-bottom: 40px; margin-right: 15px;" title="resurrection" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/resurrection1.jpg" alt="" width="106" height="191" /></a>We see banner-blindness in our own network since we offer both banner and text ads.  The latter looks native to the look and feel of a given newsletter, while the former is a traditional banner ad format.  In our controlled studies, time and again, the text ads will always win doing 2-10x greater CTR than banner ads.  Think about it &#8212; an order of magnitude difference in CTR is an order of magnitude difference in revenue.  In other words, instead of making $10 with banner ads, you could be making $100.  At first, this difference astounded me, but now it seems obvious.  Native ads have high CTRs for a couple of reasons:</p>
<p><span>1) They look like they fit the content.  Since users are actively reading the content, they are more likely to read the ad.  </span></p>
<p><span>2) The look-and-feel required to be a native ad will differ from property to property, so users are not able to learn to ignore ads.</span><span><br />
</span></p>
<h2>The Epiphany</h2>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/epiphany1.jpg"><img class="alignright  wp-image-4424" title="epiphany" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/epiphany1.jpg" alt="" width="82" height="248" /></a>Advertisers get more engagement with native ads compared to banner ads on an eCPM basis. If you are a publisher and can choose your ad format, it’s a no-brainer to run native ads.  Since they are more effective, advertisers should also be willing to pay more for these on an eCPM basis.  Everyday, we hear about online newspaper companies struggling, because banner ads are just not paying them enough to make their business model work.  By adopting native ads, media companies should be able to increase their revenue by an order of magnitude, and advertisers will pay for this, because it works better than banner ads.</p>
<p>Get ready for a new world. There&#8217;s a new way to get customers now, and everyone &#8212; marketers, agencies, ad exchanges and networks &#8212; will need to be prepared for this big change.  Have questions or thoughts about what this new world will look like?  Type them below.</p>
<div></div>
<div>
<p><small><em>Image used with permission from Microsoft</em></small></p>
</div>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>3 companies who do smart email marketing (and how)</title>
		<link>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/3-companies-who-do-smart-email-marketing-and-how/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=3-companies-who-do-smart-email-marketing-and-how</link>
		<comments>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/3-companies-who-do-smart-email-marketing-and-how/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 21 May 2013 17:48:32 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Elizabeth Yin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[email marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[best practices]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[online marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[spam]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.launchbit.com/blog/?p=4609</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p><span>Bigger is better in email marketing, right? Generate more leads, send more emails, make more profits &#8211; or so the story goes. This has been the mantra of email marketers for the last two decades. But the situation has changed.  For a new era of email marketing, we need a new strategy. It’s what I call “Karma Sending.”</span></p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/1-Karma-sending.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4611" title="Karma sending" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/1-Karma-sending-250x187.jpg" alt="" /></a></p>
<p><em>Image credit: Flickr user </em><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/lexnger/2240855594/sizes/z/in/photostream/" target="_blank"><em>LexnGer</em></a></p>
<p><strong><span>What is Karma Sending?</span></strong></p>
<p>Karma Sending is the equivalent of working smarter, not harder. It means sending more targeted emails to the right people &#8211; those who are actually engaging with them. It means sending the right offers at the right time.&#8230; <a href="http://www.launchbit.com/blog/3-companies-who-do-smart-email-marketing-and-how/" class="read_more">Read the rest</a></p>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><span>Bigger is better in email marketing, right? Generate more leads, send more emails, make more profits &#8211; or so the story goes. This has been the mantra of email marketers for the last two decades. But the situation has changed.  For a new era of email marketing, we need a new strategy. It’s what I call “Karma Sending.”</span></p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/1-Karma-sending.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4611" title="Karma sending" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/1-Karma-sending-250x187.jpg" alt="" /></a></p>
<p><em>Image credit: Flickr user </em><a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/lexnger/2240855594/sizes/z/in/photostream/" target="_blank"><em>LexnGer</em></a></p>
<p><strong><span>What is Karma Sending?</span></strong></p>
<p>Karma Sending is the equivalent of working smarter, not harder. It means sending more targeted emails to the right people &#8211; those who are actually engaging with them. It means sending the right offers at the right time. In the end, you’ll probably send fewer emails, but they’ll perform better.</p>
<p><strong>Why Karma Sending?</strong></p>
<p>Higher conversion rate. If you focus your email marketing on customers or potential customers who are more likely to engage, your conversion rate will go up.</p>
<p><strong>3 Companies that do Karma Sending</strong></p>
<p><span>1) <strong><a href="http://www.fab.com" target="_blank">Fab.com</a> </strong>noticed that not everyone was engaging with every email. So, they went ahead and unsubscribed people who were not opening certain emails (e.g., Sunday-Thursday emails) and sent them a notice.</span></p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/fab.png"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4612" title="fab" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/fab-250x166.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p><em>image credit: <a href="http://thenextweb.com/shareables/2013/03/04/classy-fab-stops-sending-you-emails-you-dont-read-even-when-you-dont-ask-them-to/" target="_blank">The Next Web</a></em></p>
<p>The result? Not only did this reduce their email bill, but their percentage of engagement went up in the eyes of clients such as Gmail, Yahoo, and Hotmail. The people who were never going to open the email anyway didn’t get bothered, and Fab’s emails got more attention.</p>
<p>2) Like Fab, <strong><a href="www.linkedin.com" target="_blank">LinkedIn</a></strong> made a similar move. Just as good karma can bring you luck down the line, so can good Karma Sending.</p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/linkedin_email_small1.jpg"><img title="linkedin_email_small" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/linkedin_email_small1.jpg" alt="LinkedIn Email" width="463" height="148" /></a></p>
<p>LinkedIn groups send periodic digest emails, so if someone belongs to tons of groups, they are constantly getting LinkedIn emails. So LinkedIn cut back. If people were not engaging with the digests of certain groups, LinkedIn automatically unsubscribed them. In the future, users will think more kindly of LinkedIn and pay more attention when they actually do send emails.</p>
<p>3) Online store <strong><a href="http://www.opensky.com" target="_blank">OpenSky</a></strong> takes the cake for its expert Karma Sending.  <span>They went so far as to say they would deactivate my account if I did not re-engage. </span></p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Screen-Shot-2013-04-08-at-4.46.37-PM1.png"><img title="OpenSky email" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Screen-Shot-2013-04-08-at-4.46.37-PM1.png" alt="OpenSky email" width="534" height="462" /></a></p>
<p><span>It’s a clever move: if I haven’t engaged with their platform for a full year, why bother emailing me? But if I do decide to re-engage, they’ve effectively reminded me to do so without sounding naggy.</span></p>
<p><strong>Mass emailing is dead</strong></p>
<p>Mass emailing doesn&#8217;t engage all your recipients, and the dead weight actually hurts you.  It increases your chance of hitting spam filters in Gmail, Hotmail, and Yahoo.  It costs you money to send to people who have not opened a single one of your emails in years.  And, your users don&#8217;t appreciate being inundated with a barrage of useless emails.</p>
<p>This decade is all about Karma Sending. Are you Karma Sending? Why or why not?</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>Why You Should Send Email Promotions on National Chocolate Chip Day</title>
		<link>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/why-you-should-send-email-promotions-on-national-chocolate-chip-day/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=why-you-should-send-email-promotions-on-national-chocolate-chip-day</link>
		<comments>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/why-you-should-send-email-promotions-on-national-chocolate-chip-day/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 09 May 2013 23:03:24 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Elizabeth Yin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[email marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[best practices]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.launchbit.com/blog/?p=4435</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<div><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/chocolate_chips.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4572" title="chocolate chips" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/chocolate_chips-250x166.jpg" alt="" /></a></div>
<div>In December, I got an email from one of our publishers.</div>
<div></div>
<blockquote>
<div>Hi folks,</div>
<div></div>
<div>I&#8217;m having annoying deliverability issues with Gmail over the last few weeks (perhaps 15% of folks at Gmail who used to get every issue are no longer seeing them).  &#8230;</div>
</blockquote>
<div></div>
<div>This particular publisher has extraordinary open rates (50%+ open rate), so this was rather unusual.  He reached out to his email service provider to see if they could help, but their response was not particularly helpful.</div>
<div></div>
<blockquote>
<div>Thanks for reaching out to us.  I can definitely understand your</div>
<div>concerns about the recent drop in opens, however in all likelihood its</div>
<div>probably just related to this specific time of year.</div>&#8230; <a href="http://www.launchbit.com/blog/why-you-should-send-email-promotions-on-national-chocolate-chip-day/" class="read_more">Read the rest</a></blockquote>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/chocolate_chips.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4572" title="chocolate chips" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/chocolate_chips-250x166.jpg" alt="" /></a></div>
<div>In December, I got an email from one of our publishers.</div>
<div></div>
<blockquote>
<div>Hi folks,</div>
<div></div>
<div>I&#8217;m having annoying deliverability issues with Gmail over the last few weeks (perhaps 15% of folks at Gmail who used to get every issue are no longer seeing them).  &#8230;</div>
</blockquote>
<div></div>
<div>This particular publisher has extraordinary open rates (50%+ open rate), so this was rather unusual.  He reached out to his email service provider to see if they could help, but their response was not particularly helpful.</div>
<div></div>
<blockquote>
<div>Thanks for reaching out to us.  I can definitely understand your</div>
<div>concerns about the recent drop in opens, however in all likelihood its</div>
<div>probably just related to this specific time of year.</div>
<div></div>
<div>Similar to retail, the amount of emails being sent across the internet</div>
<div>around holidays is typically much higher than average, especially</div>
<div>around the end of a year due to many holidays falling very close to</div>
<div>one another.</div>
</blockquote>
<div></div>
<div>Basically, their response was &#8220;Nothing we can do &#8212; tough beans.&#8221;  While this might seem like bad customer service, unfortunately, there really is nothing this email service provider or anyone else can do.  The holiday season is just a tough time to get into email inboxes.  Many other publishers in our network reported similar findings.  In short, there are just too many companies trying to vie for inbox attention around the December holidays.  Email clients such as Gmail, Yahoo, and Hotmail are more strict during these times, sending more emails to spam, and consumers are inundated with emails.</div>
<div>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
</div>
<div>But, if you&#8217;re not a retailer, you can combat this by running email promotions at other times of the year.  Instead of running a Christmas special, run an email promotion on National Chocolate Chip Day (coming up on May 15!).  Or National Ice Cream Soda Day (June 20th)  or Moldy Cheese Day (Oct 9th).  Plan your editorial calendar in advance so that you can space out your promotions accordingly.  Use obscure holidays to not only to avoid competition for eyeballs from other newsletters but also to make your company stand out.</div>
<div>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
</div>
<div>Stay out of spam filters and stay in the minds of your subscribers. Send newsletters when other businesses are not. What non-traditional holidays do you like to celebrate? Share them with us.</div>
<div>&nbsp;</div>
<div>
<p><small><i>Image used with permission from Microsoft</i></small></p>
</div>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>What cost-per-click should you be bidding as a Saas company?</title>
		<link>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/what-cost-per-click-should-you-be-bidding-as-a-saas-company/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=what-cost-per-click-should-you-be-bidding-as-a-saas-company</link>
		<comments>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/what-cost-per-click-should-you-be-bidding-as-a-saas-company/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 30 Apr 2013 23:07:07 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Elizabeth Yin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[online marketing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.launchbit.com/blog/?p=4446</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/cpc.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4449" title="cpc" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/cpc-250x248.jpg" alt="" /></a></p>
<div>Lots of advertisers ask what they should be bidding on a cost-per-click basis.  It&#8217;s a tough question, especially if you don&#8217;t know the lifetime value of your average customer yet.  But, I just read a solid blog post by <a href="http://wpengine.com/" target="_blank">WPEngine</a> entrepreneur Jason Cohen on his rule of thumb for CPC bidding.  The post makes some assumptions about your conversion rate and your customer retention, but nonetheless, his numbers are good proxies for most Saas businesses.</div>
<div>&#160;</div>
<div>tl;dr &#8212; you should bid your monthly recurring revenue / 25.  E.g. If your average recurring paid package is $100 per month, you should bid at max $4 per click.&#8230; <a href="http://www.launchbit.com/blog/what-cost-per-click-should-you-be-bidding-as-a-saas-company/" class="read_more">Read the rest</a></div>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/cpc.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-4449" title="cpc" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/cpc-250x248.jpg" alt="" /></a></p>
<div>Lots of advertisers ask what they should be bidding on a cost-per-click basis.  It&#8217;s a tough question, especially if you don&#8217;t know the lifetime value of your average customer yet.  But, I just read a solid blog post by <a href="http://wpengine.com/" target="_blank">WPEngine</a> entrepreneur Jason Cohen on his rule of thumb for CPC bidding.  The post makes some assumptions about your conversion rate and your customer retention, but nonetheless, his numbers are good proxies for most Saas businesses.</div>
<div>&nbsp;</div>
<div>tl;dr &#8212; you should bid your monthly recurring revenue / 25.  E.g. If your average recurring paid package is $100 per month, you should bid at max $4 per click. <a href="http://blog.asmartbear.com/bootstrapped-cpc.html" target="_blank">Check out his full post &gt;&gt;</a></p>
<div></div>
<div>What methods do you use to figure out your max cost-per-click bid?</div>
</div>
<div>&nbsp;</div>
<div>
<p><small><i>Image used with permission from Microsoft</i></small></p>
</div>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>How the best advertisers do lead generation</title>
		<link>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/how-the-best-advertisers-do-lead-generation/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=how-the-best-advertisers-do-lead-generation</link>
		<comments>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/how-the-best-advertisers-do-lead-generation/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 25 Apr 2013 22:53:43 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Elizabeth Yin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[lead generation]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[best practices]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.launchbit.com/blog/?p=4441</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>By Elizabeth</p>
<p>Yesterday, I held a webinar on &#8220;How the best advertisers do lead generation.&#8221;   We talked about:</p>
<ul>
<li>Driving traffic: best practices in creating ads</li>
<li>Building compelling landing pages</li>
<li>Packaging content into ebooks, pdfs, whitepapers</li>
<li>Cultivating your audience</li>
</ul>
<p>And, we teamed up with our friends at <a href="https://toutapp.com" target="_blank">Tout</a>, who talked about doing lead generation through cold-emailing.  If you couldn&#8217;t make it, we&#8217;ve recorded it and published it below.</p>
<p><iframe src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/jmudC4XpWZU" frameborder="0" width="560" height="315"></iframe></p>
<p>&#160;</p>
<p>&#160;&#8230; <a href="http://www.launchbit.com/blog/how-the-best-advertisers-do-lead-generation/" class="read_more">Read the rest</a></p>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>By Elizabeth</p>
<p>Yesterday, I held a webinar on &#8220;How the best advertisers do lead generation.&#8221;   We talked about:</p>
<ul>
<li>Driving traffic: best practices in creating ads</li>
<li>Building compelling landing pages</li>
<li>Packaging content into ebooks, pdfs, whitepapers</li>
<li>Cultivating your audience</li>
</ul>
<p>And, we teamed up with our friends at <a href="https://toutapp.com" target="_blank">Tout</a>, who talked about doing lead generation through cold-emailing.  If you couldn&#8217;t make it, we&#8217;ve recorded it and published it below.</p>
<p><iframe src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/jmudC4XpWZU" frameborder="0" width="560" height="315"></iframe></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>The shady business behind buying email addresses</title>
		<link>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/the-shady-business-behind-buying-email-addresses/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=the-shady-business-behind-buying-email-addresses</link>
		<comments>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/the-shady-business-behind-buying-email-addresses/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 11 Apr 2013 17:51:33 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Elizabeth Yin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[email marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[best practices]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[customer development]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.launchbit.com/blog/?p=4359</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p><img class="alignnone" title="Spam" src="http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8359/8270256961_03d5eaff85.jpg" alt="" width="500" height="333" /></p>
<p><em>Image credit: <a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/epsos/8270256961/sizes/m/in/photostream/" target="_blank">epSos.de</a></em></p>
<p>By Elizabeth</p>
<p>Working in the email world, you learn about some seriously shady practices and what goes on behind the scenes.  I was initially reluctant to talk about this publicly, but the other day, an acquaintance approached me for some advice.</p>
<blockquote><p>Me: Oh what&#8217;s up?<br />
K: I bought an email list, and I want to know the best way to send these people emails.<br />
Me: As in, you bought actual email addresses?<br />
K: Yeah. 38,000 emails of professionals. From a site similar to Salesforce&#8217;s data.com.<br />
Me: Oh&#8230;I see&#8230;<br />
K: Yeah, I paid $18,000 for the list. How should I send marketing emails to them?</p>&#8230; <a href="http://www.launchbit.com/blog/the-shady-business-behind-buying-email-addresses/" class="read_more">Read the rest</a></blockquote>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img class="alignnone" title="Spam" src="http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8359/8270256961_03d5eaff85.jpg" alt="" width="500" height="333" /></p>
<p><em>Image credit: <a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/epsos/8270256961/sizes/m/in/photostream/" target="_blank">epSos.de</a></em></p>
<p>By Elizabeth</p>
<p>Working in the email world, you learn about some seriously shady practices and what goes on behind the scenes.  I was initially reluctant to talk about this publicly, but the other day, an acquaintance approached me for some advice.</p>
<blockquote><p>Me: Oh what&#8217;s up?<br />
K: I bought an email list, and I want to know the best way to send these people emails.<br />
Me: As in, you bought actual email addresses?<br />
K: Yeah. 38,000 emails of professionals. From a site similar to Salesforce&#8217;s data.com.<br />
Me: Oh&#8230;I see&#8230;<br />
K: Yeah, I paid $18,000 for the list. How should I send marketing emails to them?</p></blockquote>
<p>I felt bad for him. He&#8217;s starting a company and is strapped for cash like everyone else. And, he blew $18,000. If he had talked with me earlier, I would&#8217;ve talked him out of buying that list, because I&#8217;m vehemently opposed to buying actual email addresses. I might&#8217;ve tried to sell him on the idea of using <a href="http://www.launchbit.com" target="_blank">LaunchBit</a> or working with publishers directly to buy sponsorships in lists. But buying actual email addresses is not only shady, but it&#8217;s a real headache if done incorrectly.</p>
<p><strong>How to send a mass email to a purchased list</strong></p>
<p>For the record, I DO NOT endorse buying email addresses.  But since he already opened Pandora&#8217;s box, I decided to tell him about how he can send to his list:</p>
<ul>
<li>Never send mass emails from your Gmail account (or any other email client).  Gmail will shut you down, and it will be a pain in the behind to get your account back to normal</li>
<li>Actual spammers run their own email servers and are constantly switching their IP addresses.  This is the more effective way to go, but if you don&#8217;t know what you&#8217;re doing, it&#8217;s probably easier to use 3rd party email service providers.</li>
<li>If you use multiple 3rd party email service providers, divide your list of emails across different ones.</li>
<li>And, when you open all these accounts, use a prepaid credit card, so that way you are not as easily traced back to these lists.  You still may never be able to send from these email service providers again, so be aware of that.</li>
<li>And create new contact information and email addresses just for the purpose of opening these accounts</li>
<li>Don&#8217;t include your company&#8217;s link in these emails.  Any links that are in emails where people hit the spam button &#8212; regardless of whether the emails are coming from your domain or not &#8212; will be associated w/ that spam.   Buy a whole new domain just for the purpose of cultivating whatever leads you get.</li>
<li>Be CAN-SPAM compliant.  This includes adding an unsubscribe link in your emails.</li>
</ul>
<p>To summarize, I basically told him to hide his identity, create lots of new accounts to remove himself from the picture, and send his email recipients to a completely different corporate website.  By the end of our conversation, it basically sounded like I was trying to help him cover up a crime!</p>
<p><strong>The private sector regulates the email industry</strong></p>
<p>But, buying email addresses is not illegal.  Cold-emailing is not illegal.  What regulates this industry is the private sector, not governments.  Reputable email service providers don&#8217;t want to be associated with your spammy behavior, so they will dump you as a customer.  Gmail will shut you down if you are abusing their email client.  They don&#8217;t want to be part of your business. But this is all perfectly legal.</p>
<p>These third parties will FIND OUT that your list is not clean, because behavior of bought lists look different from lists where readers have opted-in.  These email addresses typically bounce a LOT more.  People will typically hit the spam button more.</p>
<p><strong>Do the economics make sense?</strong></p>
<p>Here are the numbers I&#8217;ve predicted for my acquaintance&#8217;s purchase:</p>
<ul>
<li>~30% or more email addresses will typically bounce on a bought list</li>
<li>~20% open rate on email addresses that don&#8217;t bounce</li>
<li>~50% click-through-rate on opens on a really really good dedicated email</li>
<li>~10% sign-up conversion to learn more on a well-crafted landing page</li>
</ul>
<p>Give or take: 38k subscribers * 70% non-bounces * 20% open rate * 50% click-through-rate * 10% sign-up rate = 266 sign ups</p>
<p>And, these are free sign ups.  My acquaintance&#8217;s services start at say $1000, so he needs at least 18 of those 266 people to buy, which is a 6% paying conversion to break even.   This ignores the cost of sending the emails and his time.  That&#8217;s going to be a  tough sell.  With most freemium services, a 3% upsell from free to paid is considered very good.</p>
<p>To most marketers, buying a list of email addresses of your target audience seems so simple and so obvious on the surface.  But, you will have to go through a lot of headache just to send your emails (if you don&#8217;t run your own email servers).  And, the economics are not as lucrative as you would expect with an audience that has not been cultivated by you.</p>
<p>Don&#8217;t buy email addresses.  It&#8217;s not worth it.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>4 Must Read Marketing Blogs</title>
		<link>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/4-must-read-marketing-blogs/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=4-must-read-marketing-blogs</link>
		<comments>http://www.launchbit.com/blog/4-must-read-marketing-blogs/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 09 Apr 2013 19:26:02 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Elizabeth Yin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[email marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[best practices]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[google adwords]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[landing page]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[online marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[social media marketing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.launchbit.com/blog/?p=4348</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>By Elizabeth</p>
<p>There are a lot of marketing blogs out there that are just awful. They aren&#8217;t insightful. They don&#8217;t teach you something new. They&#8217;re boring.</p>
<p>Here are our favorite marketing blogs that we&#8217;ve found to be extremely helpful and tactical.</p>
<p><strong>1) Unbounce</strong></p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Screen-Shot-2013-04-09-at-12.18.53-PM.png"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-4350" title="Screen Shot 2013-04-09 at 12.18.53 PM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Screen-Shot-2013-04-09-at-12.18.53-PM.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p>&#160;</p>
<p>The team over at <a href="http://unbounce.com/" target="_blank">Unbounce</a> writes <a href="http://unbounce.com/blog/" target="_blank">tactical posts</a> on how to improve your marketing. Best practices for building landing pages. How to optimize your email marketing.</p>
<p><strong>2) PostRocket</strong></p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Screen-Shot-2013-04-09-at-12.19.57-PM.png"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-4351" title="Screen Shot 2013-04-09 at 12.19.57 PM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Screen-Shot-2013-04-09-at-12.19.57-PM.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p>&#160;</p>
<p>If you want to learn how to optimize your social media marketing, the <a href="http://www.getpostrocket.com/" target="_blank">PostRocket</a> team goes into great depth around <a href="http://blog.getpostrocket.com/" target="_blank">studies they&#8217;ve done on Facebook and Twitter</a>.&#8230; <a href="http://www.launchbit.com/blog/4-must-read-marketing-blogs/" class="read_more">Read the rest</a></p>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>By Elizabeth</p>
<p>There are a lot of marketing blogs out there that are just awful. They aren&#8217;t insightful. They don&#8217;t teach you something new. They&#8217;re boring.</p>
<p>Here are our favorite marketing blogs that we&#8217;ve found to be extremely helpful and tactical.</p>
<p><strong>1) Unbounce</strong></p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Screen-Shot-2013-04-09-at-12.18.53-PM.png"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-4350" title="Screen Shot 2013-04-09 at 12.18.53 PM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Screen-Shot-2013-04-09-at-12.18.53-PM.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>The team over at <a href="http://unbounce.com/" target="_blank">Unbounce</a> writes <a href="http://unbounce.com/blog/" target="_blank">tactical posts</a> on how to improve your marketing. Best practices for building landing pages. How to optimize your email marketing.</p>
<p><strong>2) PostRocket</strong></p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Screen-Shot-2013-04-09-at-12.19.57-PM.png"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-4351" title="Screen Shot 2013-04-09 at 12.19.57 PM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Screen-Shot-2013-04-09-at-12.19.57-PM.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>If you want to learn how to optimize your social media marketing, the <a href="http://www.getpostrocket.com/" target="_blank">PostRocket</a> team goes into great depth around <a href="http://blog.getpostrocket.com/" target="_blank">studies they&#8217;ve done on Facebook and Twitter</a>. When should you post on Facebook? What should you post? And how?</p>
<p><strong>3) MixRank</strong></p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Screen-Shot-2013-04-09-at-12.23.21-PM.png"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-4352" title="Screen Shot 2013-04-09 at 12.23.21 PM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Screen-Shot-2013-04-09-at-12.23.21-PM.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p>Do you run Google AdWords campaigns? <a href="http://mixrank.com/" target="_blank">MixRank</a> dives into how you should be <a href="http://blog.mixrank.com/" target="_blank">structuring your campaigns and bids</a>. How to choose keywords.</p>
<p><strong>4) KISSmetrics</strong></p>
<p><a href="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Screen-Shot-2013-04-09-at-12.24.10-PM.png"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-4353" title="Screen Shot 2013-04-09 at 12.24.10 PM" src="http://dkv3s1arj5s99.cloudfront.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Screen-Shot-2013-04-09-at-12.24.10-PM.png" alt="" /></a></p>
<p>Lastly, the team over at <a href="https://www.kissmetrics.com/" target="_blank">KISSmetrics</a> rocks it with their <a href="http://blog.kissmetrics.com/" target="_blank">general marketing tips</a>. They will often bring in guest bloggers w/ different areas of marketing expertise to do deep dives on topics.</p>
<p>What awesome marketing blogs do you follow?</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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